The best leaders are those who encourage feedback from the people whom they lead.

The most competent leaders are those which encourage and ask for feedback from those they are leading.

There are many different types of leaders and managers in the world. Some are very strict in what they let you do, whereas others prefer to give space and creative freedom to those they are managing. The success of differing methods depends not only on the situation but also the personality and work ethic of those being led. Therefore, to be a successful leader it is imperative that one listens to, and responds to, feedback. This allows the leader's mentality to adapt to different situations and personalities, which is of utmost importance if one is to succeed in leading. If the leader was to listen to feedback but not act, then the potential benefits are lost.

Encouraging feedback allows for the leader to understand and learn from those that they lead exactly what they are doing right and what they can improve upon. Without this insight, a leader would not know if they are pushing too hard or letting people get away with too much. Thus, by allowing this insight the leader can get the best out of everyone they are leading. However, this does require that the leader is not being misled through feedback from dissatisfied followers.

The encouragement of feedback also increases a sense of participation that each member of a group has within an organization, a team or a country. It evokes the feeling that they are making a difference and what they think matters. Such emotions can help morale in any situation and make people follow a specific leader passionately. Without this participation, followers can quickly become marginalized and no longer wish to be under the leader. Yet, this increased passion will only occur if the feedback that is given is listened to and acted upon. By listening to but seemingly ignoring the feedback this could be more detrimental than not listening to any feedback in the first place.

Nevertheless, feedback alone is not the making of the greatest leaders. The key to being a successful leader is complex and requires many traits and abilities that can not simply be gained by receiving feedback. A leader must be able to command a room with ease; they must be able to make hard decisions under time constraints; they must be able to to put the need of many over that of a few; and they must be able to work hard, for long hours, to lead by example and excel. These are but some of the traits required, some of which can be learned, but others are seen as a natural gift.

The best leaders are those that encourage feedback from those that follow them. Encouraging feedback allows for the leader to adapt to many situations, improve upon their leadership style and give a sense of participation to those that they are leading. However, encouraging feedback should not be taken as the only quality that makes the best leaders. There are many more traits required to be the best, which must be combined with the feedback to produce the best leaders.