In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The text argues that the city government should devote more money to improving the riverside recreational facilities. However, this argument is invalidated by the weak and insecure evidence supporting it.

Surveys can be problematic. Without describing the methods of the survey, one has no idea who was sampled and how the questions were posed. The sample population of the survey could have been biased to include a higher proportion of residents who live on the river and therefore want to see more money go into its maintenance and care. Additionally, questions can be posed in ways that elicit certain answers. For example, the answers to the question "What are your favorite recreational activities?" could have been limited to activities related to water sports, so that stakeholders who want to see the river improved could show results that support their claim, despite being biased. Including the methods of the survey could improve the argument.

Another issue with surveys is that people can misreport information. Even if the survey was framed in an unbiased matter, the people taking the survey could overestimate their interest in or likelihood to participate in certain activities. It is common for people to make themselves come off as "more interested" or "more active" than they really are because it makes them feel better. One can imagine a man sitting on a couch, eating chips, watching televisions, and filling out this survey thinking "Oh yes, I love swimming!" But, would he actually get up and do it? A survey cannot tell you that. In order to improve the survey, it could include a question like "How often in a month do you do such recreational activities?" to gauge how likely the recreational activities are to be used.

Finally, the main complaint of city residents is that the river quality is not up to their standard and that the river smells, not that the quality of the riverside recreational facilities are poor. Perhaps, the state's clean up of Mason River will be enough for residents to want to start using the river for recreation purposes. Thus, the city would not need to devote more money for the recreational facilities and can put the money to use elsewhere. The argument could be improved by adding a question to the survey about resident's interest in using the riverside recreational facilities.

The argument in support of the city designating more money for the improvement of the riverside recreational facilities is invalidated by weaknesses in the survey, including the possibility of biases and misreporting, and the potential for the state's clean up of the river to increase resident usage of the river.