Technology, while apparently aimed to simplify our lives, only makes our lives more complicated.

Over human history, technology has improved and increased drastically. Technology has advanced society by making mundane tasks easier and saving lives.

Before calculators and modern-day computers, scientists and students used to spend hours solving complicated calculations that now calculators solve in the matter of minutes. This has sped up scientific discoveries leading to an exponential curve of developments. These developments increasingly help simplify the daily lives of average people: a parent that needs to decide on a quick recipe, a surf instructor that needs to check the ocean swell, or a customer that needs to calculate a tip. Ultimately, developments in technology makes life easier on the average person.

Advancements in technology have also had a huge impact in the medical field. Without many technologies, vaccines for diseases like polio, measles, and rabies or treatments for diseases like AIDS would not exist, leaving many people to solemnly accept their fates. Many more people and their families and friends would have to struggle with the emotional stress and burdens accompanying medical issues and complications. Clearly, such medical discoveries have saved the lives of many, thus improving the quality of life of such people and their families.

Despite such positive impacts technology has had on many people's lives, one cannot deny the distraction some technologies (including cell phones or gaming devices) pose on people. Such distracting technologies can pull people away from their responsibilities and obligations, or simply waste time.

All in all, technology has an overall positive effect on society. Most would agree that improving and saving lives outweighs the few negative effects of technologies.