A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Having a standardized national curriculum could be troublesome as it could encourage close-mindedness and inhibit diversity.

Currently, our government is made up of older, white men. This means many of the decisions made around the new standardized curriculum are made by them. This could be problematic as they might have a very closed idea of what should be included in the curriculum. Such issues include hiding poor historical choices made by the US, for example, slavery of Africans or the genocide of Native Americans. Another issue could be ignoring or not acknowledging accomplishments of people of color. One might notice this on a student's reading list when they look down and see all classic novels written by white people, and men in particular. Without a more inclusive education our children could grow up sheltered, close-minded, and possibly, bigoted.

A strict, standardized curriculum will also inhibit diversity and creativity. It is known that diversity of people, knowledge, and experiences enriches learning environments. Thus, by narrowing the scope of what students might learn we are not only limiting their school learning environments, but their future work environments. A standardized curriculum will make cookie cutter students that will turn into cookie cutter adults that cannot bring new ideas to the table. One could expect to see a stifling of creativity and innovation in our work places, universities, and lives, in addition to our K-12 schools.

One potential benefit to installing a standardized curriculum would be consistency and quality control in K-12 education. This could bring up the quality of education in areas that are deficient and even the playing field for students trying to move on to higher education. There can be a lot of competition between school now, so making the curriculum the same ensures that all students across the country have received the same information in their education.

While there are potential benefits to standardizing the national curriculum, it is more likely to see an increase in close-mindedness and a decrease in diversity. This would only hurt our country's issues around racism and stifle creativity and innovation.