The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The author proposes that order of birth affects an individual monkey’s level of stimulation. However, the assumptions made about the facts presented in the argument leave the proposition requiring further justification.

The author refers to a study where firstborn infant monkeys produce more cortisol, an indicator of level of stimulation, than their younger siblings when they are exposed to stimulating situations, an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey. The author makes the assumption that it the stimulating situation that causes the increased level of stimulation. However, it could be that the first time mother is reacting to and feeling threatened by the unfamiliar monkey, thus causing an increase in stimulation in the infant monkey. If this were the case, then it would not be birth order that affects the level of stimulation experienced by the infant, but number of offspring had by a mother monkey would affect the level of stimulation experienced by the infant.

The author uses the fact that firstborn humans also produce higher levels of cortisol in stimulating situations as evidence for his proposal. However, the “stimulating situation” for the infant monkeys, encountering an unfamiliar monkey, is very different from the “stimulating situation” for the infant humans, the return of a parent after an absence. Encountering an unfamiliar monkey might be a moment of nervousness or fear, whereas the return of a parent would most likely be a moment of excitement and joy. These two situations are not comparable and, therefore, the human infant study cannot be used as evidence to support the author’s argument, thus weakening it.

In the first study referenced, firstborn infant monkeys are said to produce twice as much cortisol than their younger siblings when introduced to stimulating situations. Because the author does not include specific amounts, readers are incapable of knowing the significance of that comparison. For example, if the firstborn monkeys produce 0.000002 units of cortisol and their following siblings produce 0.000001 units, then the higher amounts of cortisol found in the firstborn monkeys might not be significant. The author could improve his argument by including the specific numbers from the study. However, if the numbers are indeed insignificant, then maybe there is no correlation between birth order and an individual’s level of stimulation.

The assumptions made about the cause of the firstborn infant monkeys’ heightened cortisol levels, the equivalency between “stimulating situations” in the two different studies, and significance of the level of cortisol in firstborn infant monkeys relative to their siblings render the argument invalid.