In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The argument is flawed for various reasons. Primarily, it makes an unwarranted claim about the ranking of water sports as favorite recreational activites among the residents of Mason city.

The argument is based on a survey result but it does not provide any details about the survey. For example, it may happen that the survey was conducted on a summer season during which period people like the water sports most compared to the other recreational activites. So, as soon as the summer is over and winter will come then people may choose other recreational activites apart from water sports when the water of the river turns into ice. Again, the age level on which the survey was conducted is a vital factor. Choices of recreational activities are not same for all ages. For example, football is a popular recreational activity for young people but not for old person. At the same time, the location of people on which the survey was conducted is also an important factor. People living near river may choose water sports but not the people living in the center of the city. Had the argument placed details about the survey only than the argument would have been more valid. Secondly, the argument assumes that after ceaning up Mason River use of the river for water sports is going to increase. But as we know taste of human changes over time and for this there is no certainity that use of the river for water sports is certainly going to increase.

However, it is also possible that after cleaning up the river the environment will become not friendly for fishes and the population of the fish will decline and this will affect fishing as a water sport. There is also possibility that the time when the survey was conducted it was a vacaction time and in the future there is vacation ahead and for this use of the river for water sports is not going to increase.

Finally, there is no details about the source of bad smell of water in the river. It may happen that bad smell is spreading from the boats and the wastage people leave while swimming. So, there is certainity that cleaning the river is not going to work at all.

The argument is wrong becasue it makes some unwarranted assumptions.