In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument intedns to convince the city government to spend more money into the cleaning of the river because Mason City Residents will surely benefit, since they are keen on water sports.

The first flaw in this claim is that the author assumes that the datas he referred to are reliable. However, he or she did not precisely state the percentages of the surveys he based this thesis on to claim water sports are the favorite activities of the residents. Indeed, throughout the surveys, these activities can be the first in terms of number of people eager to practicing them, but it could be at very little majority. For instance, if the residents have very diverse and disparate hobby, the water sports could presumably make up for only 30 percent of the answers and still consider to represent the whole majority of the residents.

Furthermore, the proponent of this decision claims that the only few people currently enjoy the riverside of the city, as probably as it may seems, based on the same former data. Nevertheless, a non-negligeable part of the resident community could reasonably like the quiet and calm environment to walk along, enabled by the lack of interest of the water-sports enthusiasts. Thus, cleaning up the river and therefore attracting activities to spaces that used to be relaxing ones is certainly a decision taken at the expenses of current amateurs of the riverside.

According to the argument, thanks to the purification of the river, more people will undoubtedly come practice water-sports. Nonetheless, how can be the author so sure of this claim ? In fact, he or she probably came accross another city that implemented a similar policy with successful results. But it is likely that the situation of Mason City is different from others cities and consequently this cleaning would only be a waste of public money.

In conclusion, in order to better convince the residents, not only should the author build his or her argument with clearly flawed assumptions on the hobbies of the population and expected results, but also support the proposal with actual figures and percentages that make the idea more sound.