Some people argue that successful leaders in government, industry, or other fields must be highly competitive. Other people claim that in order to be successful, a leader must be willing and able to cooperate with others.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

What does it take to be a efficient leader ? The claim perorates between a higly competitive character and a more conciliating one. Although looking aggresively for results is valuable for chiefs, most successes rely on people teamworking and cooperating rather than one person viing for harsh competition.

Traditionally, leaders are held as utmost figures at every scale of society : citizens listen to the President, players to their team leader, employees to their bosses. Indeed, leaders have - or at least think to have - assertive behavior that enable to achieve the goals. The CEO of a company decides everyday how to make his or her company more profitable. And profit comes from better products than the competitors, better design, better supply chains. However such improvements for profitability can be made at the expenses of the employees, thus creating resentment. Eventually the CEO would fail because he or she cannot produce without willing employees.

Conversely, cooperation is the more pragmatic way to progress together, without leaving anyone on the sideway. Taking many options into account and seeking compromises often lead to better results. For example, if the Parlament passes law on which any citizen or their direct representatives had any word to say, then it is highly likely citizens will criticize the law. Whereas if the Governement talked with trade unions if the law concerns work, or NGO and associations if it is cultural or social related, the politicians could better assess the needs and tailor the law to answer the actual demands.

Nevertheless, I acknowledge that looking for consensus is a tedious journey and may sometimes be counter-productive. Indeed, if too many parts are joining the discussion, filibusters can hinder the progress of the law-making, only because they do not agree on minor parts of the text for instance. Hence, cooperation without a convincing and assertive leader is of little use if we want to complete projects.

In conclusion, cooperation should be looked for in every projects but competitive leaders are also necessary because they take decisions