As people rely more and more on technology to solve problems, the ability of humans to think for themselves will surely deteriorate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Nowadays, technology is ubiquitous. Throughout a normal day, we unconsciously use these devices to accomplish our tasks, for instance commuting thanks to the engine of a car, or browsing the Web with a smartphone and the suitable network. Hence the doubt casted about our independence towards technology and the questions whether our thinking is affected by such supposed dependance.

First, common sense would think that more and more people today rely recklessly on technology, particularly on smartphones and other high-technology devices. Indeed, take the public transportations to count how many people are using their phones, whether it is for listening to music, read articles on websites or even skimming passively through their social media feed. It is no need to recall all the negative effects such an excessive could have on our health, both physical - tired eyes, deafened ears - and mental - stress, fear of missing out. Given these facts, the assertion seems to be confirmed. Not to mention media criticism on how smartphones are endangering the youngsters and all users.

However, I would still think that technology is not so harmful to our creativity. In fact, technology alone can not solve our more and more conmplex problems, and humans need to intervene. For instance, smartphones and computer result from multiple decisive and milestone innovation in computer science and information technology, thanks to researchers in those fields in the past decades. Similarly, algorithms need people to implement them in the computer, and everyday computer scientists think about new ways to optimize the time of calculation for their programs. Present day technologies are not able to do this task.

Furthermore, we should also consider the term of technology through the lens of all the inventions that helped us to accomplish progress in our civilization. The wheel, the steam machine, the engines are different examples of technologies on which we relied on to develop our societies without preventing us from creating new inventions. These inventions enabled us to have more time to think and elaborate even more effective devices and processes in numerous fields.

In conclusion, our constant use of some technologies surely have detrimental effects on our mental health and our thinking processes, nevertheless, we have a major impact on the development of technology and multiple historical examples prove that rather that we depend on technology, technology somewhat relies on us to thrive.