Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

As many countries in the world are democratic regimes, citizens of those countries live under laws that were discussed thoroughly in high instances of the State, such as the Congress in the Unioted States, where those texts were normally assessed about their effectiveness and their fairness. The claim points out the individual initiative of awareness and resistance in case the former process was not carefully thought and I truly support this stance.

Indeed, as we are individuals, endowed with the right to vote, we have the responsibility, if not the duty, to watch out carefully what laws are passed or signed and scrutinize if they do not infringe on our fundamental rights. For instance, the disciminating Muslim Ban targeted at some visitors of the Middle-East to the United States hinder the right to travel freely. Hence the quick outcry that emerged on the social media to protest against this decree.

However, you may ask, when should we protest and resist ? What are "just laws" ? Justice is when no one or the least possible number of people suffer from the laws. As a matter of fact, if we belonged to the priviledged class, we are not aware of our position and the unfairness of some laws that benefit to us at the sake of other people, such as the aristocracy in Europe during the monarchies and empires and White people during segregation in the United States. Are we in that case, then I would recommend that we have to look for what is unfair in our country by reading books, listening to testimonies of the underpriviledged and fight for their sake. Because all citizens should be equals in front of law.

Nevertheless, could I be argued, what is the regime is dictatorial and repress harshly the opponent ? Should we still disobey ? This is truly more complex issue. If you are aware of this situation, then blatant disobeyance is surely not the best solution, since the regime will probably arrest you and silent you, and your action will be of no avail. Fortunately, brave people will find enough courage to fight for their ideals and for the common good, for instance Rosa Parks that refused to let her seat to protest the prejudiced condition of minorities.

In conclusion, citizens of democratic regimes should carefully assess the fairness of their passed laws and resist if they are not enough. On the other hand, we must also abide by the law that build the safety and the stability of the country.