The following appeared in an editorial in the Bayside Sentinel.

"Bayside citizens need to consider raising local taxes if they want to see improvements in the bayside school district. Test scores, graduation and college admission rates, and a number of other indicators have long made it clear that the Bayside School District is doing a poor job educating our youth. Our schools look run down, Windows are broken, bathrooms unusable, and classrooms equipment hopelessly out of date. Yet just across the Bay, in New Harbor, school facilities are up-to-date and in good condition. The difference is money; New Harbor spends twenty-seven percent more per student than Bayside does, and the test scores and other indicators of student performance are stronger in New Harbor as well."

According to the editorial, the Bayside schools lack of consistent and substantial investments to improve their level, that is why local taxed should be increased.

First, the author based his argumentation on what he thinks to be objective indicators. The indicators he mentioned are strictly related to academic achievements of the students, but none are related to extracurricular activities of the school, such as sports competitition rates, students social life, not to mention clubs and associations that make a school reputable and attractive to many students that apply.

Second, he based his assumptions of poor quality of education on the external appearance of the schools of the district, whereas the two items are not correlated. Indeed, the schools may want local subsidies to renovate and have better looking, modern and safe facilities, but they still can have interesting professors teaching motivated students.

Finally, the columnist implicitely assumed that much investments equals undoubtedly improvements in academic indicators. He relied on the flawed example of the neigbour district. According to him, since the schools buildings are in better shape and that the city spends more money on education, the indicators suggest that students are doing much better. However, money is not the unique factor that cause these imporvements. New Harbor could be a more priviledged city that Bayside, in terms of libraries and cultural facilities, such as museums and music schools. The social background of New Harbour should also be considered; for instance, the inhabitants could have higher incomes that the ones of Bayside or had better education, meaning the families could support financially and academically their offsprings, resulting in general better results in the indicators. Furthermore, the editorial mentions that New Harbour invests more money per student. The latter words points out that this city may have less students than Bayside. Consequently, the results of the investments are more sensible and visible for the same amount of money.

To conlude, this editorial presents a flawed argumentation to persuade rather than convince the residents of Bayside to pay more taxes to support education in the districts. Indicators giving an incomplete picture of the schools, unproved relation between money and quality of education and ultimately, not appropriate comparison with New Harbour make the article less effective in its objective, because these arguments weaken the author credibility, coherence, and his ability to persuade.