Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

As influence of the biggest companies on societies has been growing since the middle of the 1950s, the claim questions the responsibilities of such entities: should they only seek for profit or also care of societal and environmental issues ? If the former option is the primary objective of all new companies, enteprises should take into account unavoidable their impact on population and nature and become aware of their duties.

First, companies are often created to answer a need, then making profit by selling product or service that fullfil it. Hence, earning money is the principal objective of most entrepreneurs and it is the driving force which leads the transformations of the processes of the company. For instance, Henry Ford conceived the chain labor to optimize the supply chain and the production process, to produce and sell more cars, enventually to get better earnings at the end of the year.

However, such deep and extensive changes have substantial consequences on societies and environment. Should I mention the uproar about the alienation of the workers, as a result of Fordism and Taylorism? Or the pollution of soil and waters, not to mention the diseases of the employees, provoked by toxic poisonous compounds in sweat shops and factories in developing countries ? Due to these concerns, responsibility of the big companies is a burning issue of our century.

Lately, most of them are aware of this challenge and have implemented better work conditions, creating incentives for the employees. For instance, start-ups such as Google or Facebook in their first years, promote inclusiveness of the recruitment and beneficial work environment, ideas largely adopted by many companies nowadays to attract the millenials. Concerning environmental responsibility, corporations have been engaging a renewal of their headquarter to be more sustainable and less energy-demanding, satisfying both profit-making and reasserting their public image.

Nonetheless, these decisions are not groundbreaking enough to change in depth their huge impact they have on our planet. The subprimes crisis proved that mistakes of the few are paid by the many: thousands of family lost their homes due to this crisis, hundred of countries were also deeply affected. Similarly, stronger eco-friendly policies should be implemented or passed to curb the unlimited and careless growth of certain irresponsible companies.