The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

According to experts, the citizens of Corpora appear to be less healthy condition compared to two decades ago. After rejecting the hypothesis of sedentary life induced by computers, the author stresses the beneficial impact a healthy economy can have on the citizen’s fitness. As defendable as this assertion can be, it is compulsory that the arguments relies on more sound evidence to be more compelling.

For example, the first sentence states that less residents of Corpora meet the standards of fitness than twenty years before. Without describing accurately what the standards are today and what they were at that time, the argument is considerably weaken. Indeed, the standards could have evolved, becoming more and more demanding in the sugar rates or fat concentration in blood, resulting from more spread awareness of coronary diseases for instance. Thus, this flaw undermine the assumption that the citizens of Corpora have more unhealthy habits that before.

The correlation made between computers purchased and high level of fitness is similarly overlooked. In fact the regions where people concentrate the computers can also be the most affluent and wealthy part of the city, thus having more money than the average to spend in activities to be fitter, such as sports and the suitable equipment. Furthermore, this neighborhood could also have better sport and better healthcare facilities, which enable the local inhabitants to meet actually the standards. Hence, the impact of the computers on overall health should be better built on actual and acute comparison of these areas with other parts of the town.

Finally, it is said that when economy improves, so do the fitness of the citizens, because they shall spend more on fitness-related products and services. Conversely, people are currently in bad shape because the expenditures are low. This is an unwarranted assumption, because the slowdown of the economy has undoubtedly impacts of the expenditures of the population, since the latter will rather spare money and spend only on necessary goods such as food. Thus, they relegate fitness products at the background, resulting in a decrease of the expenditures, without meaning the population do not practice sports anymore.