“‘It takes a village to raise a child’. The education or your children is the task of the community as a whole, not merely the province of teachers and local school administrators.”

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Since children and youngsters are the future of a nation, it is compulsory to find the best ways to educate them, and make them become proper citizens. The claim states that such an education can not be provided by teachers and schools but should involve the whole community. Although this vision is partly correct, the role of the teachers are eventually crucial to raise children.

There is no need to mention how the community,and especially the close relatives, play a major role in the growing up of a child. Indeed, family members are the most prone to teach their offsprings social conventions and proper manners before they go to school. The children must behave well to melt in the society they will live in. Despite schools surely provide academic education, it is not their primary function to watch the behaviours of the students. Furthermore, lessons will be understood and listened only if the families have taught the children to be quiet during classes.

However, this important role of the family in education should not belittle that of the schools. Parents can be source of bad behaviors for their children, if they are actually criminals or drug addicts for example. Thus, children will consider schools as haven where they can bloom, instead of the distressed situation at their home. On top of that, education is also giving career opportunities to every students, no matter they background. Spreading knowledge, that parents cannot provide, is an efficient mean to build promising futures for the children.

In relation with the former paragrah, schools consequently help children to integrate society. When family teaches how to behave, schools give away children the tools to face the big world. This is particularly illustrated by children of immigrant parents. If the latter often have issues to melt in the countries they just arrived, the former by going to school can help their parents' integration. In fact, the children can learn a new language quickly and will probably speak it at home, thus schools teach indirectly the newly arrived. Not to mention that children also bond easily with their conterparts, and consequently giving their parents opportunity to meet other parents.

In conclusion, if the education of children requires undoubtedly the community and espeacally the family, one should not forget the porwerful impact schools and teachers have on children, both preparing them to confront a competitive world, and sometimes teaching indirectly the parents as well.