We can usually learn much more from people whose views we share than from people whose views contradict our own.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

As we are speaking animals, we share our thoughts by socializing and talking with our counterparts. Most of time we prefer to talk to people we get along with and since we share on the whole the same opinions, we are more incline to listen to people with our same conception. Hence the claim, which states that we would rather learn more when we connect with people we agree with instead of confronting opposing views. I only partially agree with this claim.

First, talking with people we do not agree with enables us to better assess our posistion soundness and strengthen our arguments. Indeed, detractors will always point out vents in our opinions. For instance, in quantum physics history, many physicists argues whether they should consider light as a wave or a particle. Both sides provided experiments and hypothesis, and thanks to their confrontation, they concluded eventually that light was both wave and particle. Without facing the other side, the resulting theory would have been flawed.

Although sharing the same views is conforting, it is harshly likely that progress is made. Since there will be no debate, innovations cannot emerged. Druring the Middle Ages in Europe, the Church curbed scientific progress, because these research would contradict the misconceptions the society believed in. Hence, when people tend to protect their views by disdaining others, they prevent themselves from another source of knowledge and debate.

In conclusion, conversing with people you agree with is reassuring by little can be learned since confrontation enables to build stronger views.