In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on the assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument concludes that the city government should devote more money in this year's budgettp riverside recreational facilities relying on a survey which enumerated that Mason City residents marks water sports among favorite recreation activities. The argument is fraught with many drawbacks without which the argumengt will be not sound. Some of logical fallacies are ...

The argument assumes that the survey was accurate and what survey conculded was real. However, that depends on how survey was conducted , how many people were covered in survey, which regions of people in city were covered in survey, demographics of surveyed people. In one case, if survey respondents are of an opinion (water sport is their favourite) that is incongrous when we consider all the citizens of city. Accordingly, if survey was very narrowly done in only some regions which have their favorite recreational activities as water sports or survey repondents were not uniformly distributed among all age groups and genders then it might not be a reliant indicator.

Secondly, the assumption implicity made was that if government allocates more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities then issue the residents are facing pertaining to river's smell and river's water will be resolved. However whether the government budget will be sufficient to atleast resolve the issue is ill conceived. What if even though government spends significant amounts of budget each year for many years but neither the river's smell nor river's water was not purified. In that case it was flawless to consider budget to riverside recreational facilities.

Finally author also assumes that the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase without any justification. For instance there might be case that due to some instant happning people are more penchant towards water sports,however that cannot be perpetual.

In a sum, notwithstandingf the argument has many flaws argument can be maded sound by explictly stating survey respondents data and feasability of plan.