"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The author states that if the late-night news programs restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level then there will not be a fall in advertising revenues and also new views will be added. There were some of the assumptions which were not expilicitly stated in the author when not interpreted correctly, the argument is severely weakened.

One of assumptions is that author implies that the cancellations of advertising contracts are ascribed to the change in times devoted to weather and local news. Although it might seem this interpretation is appropriate, if we think deeper the interpretation of the author will be understood as illogical. Yes it is true that local businesses have cancelled their advertising contrasts and at the same time, there was a change in times devoted to weather and local news. However it is just a coincidence and author makes a causal relation between both events which is illogical. It is possible that due to decrease in revenues which is attributable to fall in sales or economic depression , the local businesses have cancelled their advertising contracts and clearly these cancellations have no effect with changes in times devoted.

Finally, author makes a presumption that once the times were restored to old timings then there will be an surge in viewers and will be a hindernce in losing any further advertsing revenues. Nonetheless it is not logical to assume in that way. The argument implies that viewership fall is due to the complaints received with station's coverage of weather and local news but argument did not explicitly stated that the complaints are ascibed to time allocation of the programmes. The complaints can be due to content of the programs which will not e chnaged definitely even if time allocation was changed. Therefore, even after the restoring the timelines it is possible that there will not be any surge in viewership. In same lines we cannot assume that there will be a blockage in the loss of advertising revenue.

In a sum, the argument is fraught with many logical fallacies such as the author assuming that complaints received were only due to time allocation change, the fall in advertising revenue is not due to any econmic depression or any external disturbance which has no bearing on time allocation change and finally once time allocation was restored then there will be a surge in viewership and no loss in advertising revenue. These can be strenghthened if author provides justification n.