"According to a recent report by our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies ac

The author of the argument concludes that if greater share of budget is allocated to advertising of movies then there will be a surge or no decrease in the viewers who watch Super Screen produced movies. The argument is fraught with many logical fallacies which needed to be coorected to make argument sound.

Firstly, author assumes that a large share of budget needed to be allocated to advertisin, however, there is a chance that the budget allocated to the movies might be reduced. Consequently, despite the surge in advertising, there will be decrease in viewers as there has been a deterioration of quality in movies. To strengthen the argument the author need to state that the large share allocation of budget to advertising will not have a significant negative impact on quality of movies.

Secondly, the author states that as there is a percentage increase in positive reviews, the quality of the movies is fine. Nontheless, it depends on what the initial number of positive reviews two years ago were. Morover, if there are very few reviews, say 10, two years ago and even though there have been 50% increase past year there will be increase of 5 which does not translate essentially that the quality is good. In order to strengthen the argument, the author need to mention that the increase in the positive reviews is susbtantial enough to claim that quality of movies is not an issue.

Finally, the advertising director assumes that lack of awareness is only reason for fall in movie viewers. However, the author overlooks that there can be some other cause that is responsible for the fall in viewers. There might be a possibility that there is a recent economic depression due to which people made cuts in their spending for entertainment. Generally during an econmic depression, people strive hard to meet their routine neccessary needs such as food, clothing, health etc. and cut their spendings to others such as entertainment, luxury etc. To strengthen the argument, the author needed to mention explicitly that there was no other cause which impacted the fall in viewers.

On a sum, the argument made some assumptions for which he had not provided any justification. The argument would be strengthened if author justifies that the increase in buget to advertising will have a significant increase in number of viewers , lack of awareness is only cause for fall in number of viewers and the percent increase in the number of positive reviews is a substantial value.