In surveys, Mason City residents rank water sports(swimming, boating, and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from the residents about the quality of the river’s water and the river’s smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is, therefore, sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year’s budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The argument points out the way to increase the use of Mason River for riverside water sports, which is to clean the river assuming that dirtiness is the main cause for the river not being used for river sports and devote more money in the budget to riverside recreational facilities. But the argument is rife with three unwarranted assumptions, that, to prove the persuasiveness of the claim should be addressed.

First, the author states the result of a survey about water sports being favorite recreational activities. There is a strong probability that the people have been surveyed are not representative of the whole population of the city. Maybe the survey was done on a few people living by the riverside whose life is well connected to the river then the majority of city dwellers who has a liking for other sports rather than water sports. If this is the case, then it will render the result of the survey invalid and make the author's argument weak.

Secondly, the author assumes that cleaning up the river will improve its water quality and attract many more people. If may be true for some cases. For instances, if the river is being polluted by nearby chemical industries then shutting them down and cleaning the water might be a viable solution. But what if the river is being polluted due to some natural or geographical reasons?

There are some water bodies which emits a bad odor due to sulfur deposits underneath. If the Mason river is being polluted due to such kinds of natural phenomenon, then cleaning up will bring no result at all.

Finally, the author’s prediction about increased water activities in the Mason River after cleaning may not necessarily be true. It may happen that, the river is not wide and deep enough to be suitable for water sports. If the river is filled with rocks or mud then it will put great disadvantage for water sports. There is the potential that there are other rivers, lakes or indoor swimming pool in the city which are more suitable for water sports then the Mason River. If above-mentioned cases are true, then investing money in cleaning the Mason River will be a mere wastage of money let alone making it a recreational place.

The author’s contention, which is based on some unwarranted assumptions, requires more scientific and practical analysis to hold water. More information from the authorities who look after the recreational facilities in the city might give the author’s argument a strong ground.