"Throughout the country last year, as more and more children below the age of nine participated in youth-league sports, over 40,000 of these young players suffered injuries. When interviewed for a recent study, youth-league soccer players in several major cities also reported psychological pressure exerted by coaches and parents to win games. Furthermore, education experts say that long practice sessions for these sports take away time that could be used for academic activities. Since the disadvantages outweigh any advantages, we in Parkville should discontinue organized the athletic competition for children under nine."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author of the argument purportedly highlights that because of many disadvantages like injuries, long practice time for soccer and so forth, youth under age 9 should not continue playing soccer and spend their time at academic center in order to study more and more. However, the premise upon which he puts his claim is fallacious.

First, the author contends that vast majorities of children suffered from injuries during the games last year. However, it does not lend credence to the argument. One point that should be considered is that maybe those children who had played the games had not been ready enough for competition and they injured during the games. Or perhaps children did not have enough practice before starting the games and injured. It is also important to say that soccer players usually should be provided with some facilities in order to prevent injuries. Indeed, there is the possibility that coaches did not mobilize the children with high-quality stocks and clothes and so forth.

The author also asserts that based on an interview for a recent study, crowds of children suffer from psychological pressure owing to the fact that their parents and coaches coerce them to win the games. Although it might seem tenable at the face, it has some defects. One of the main, if not the only, problem with the premise is that this interview could not be reliable and accurate due to the fact the author do not show that whether children won or lose the games took part in that interview. There is a possibility that children who lose the games participate in the interview and alleged that it was because of their parents and coaches pressure. Alongside that, in a professional games parents and coaches put their efforts to enhance players' motivation and incentive. Maybe the children under age 9 had not been healthy enough or suffer from stress.

Finally, as set forth by the author because of long practice sessions for the sports students could not be able to study and do their class activities. Nevertheless, the rationale behind this premise could be challenged owing to the fact that the author does not mention about time hours that children spend in practice sessions. In fact, there is a possibility that children are not interested enough in continuing education and prefer to spend most of their time at the gym. As a matter of fact, there should be a close relation between practice time and school time and managers have taken it into consideration. Maybe school managers take school time into account as a first priority.

Having scrutinized all the premises, a logical conclusion that can be drawn is that the author has ignored the number of assumption the presence of which could strengthen the author's claim.