Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While the conclusion of Dr. Field made twenty years ago may not be so accurated, the arguments of the author in this passage are very poor and insufficient on reaching this conclusion. He compared the observation-centered approach of Dr Field with his interview-centered method, by saying the last is much more accurate, but the reasons for that are quite obscure.

First, the author claims to have interviewed children living in some group of islands which contains Tertia. But this interview is rather superficial: how many children were interviwed? This sample corresponds to a varied and well representative portion of the children in these islands? So it could be possible that this sample is not enough for represent the whole picture. Furthermore, how was this interview conducted? They could have asked a lot of questions directed about the kids biological parents, so the kids may have been forced to talk more about them instead of just talking about what they really wanted. For it to have more reliability, it would be necessary to interview a great sample of children from all parts of the group of islands with an well written and broad standard questionary, making sure no kid was influenced to talk about a particularly point of view.

Another important fact is that talking mostly about their parents does not mean necessarly that the children were reared just by their biological parents. They could easily be reared by the entire village, together with their parents, but yet the children could have more affect and care about their parents rather all the village. Maybe the figure of them is a representative way to talk about all people that took care of them in their lives.

Last but not least, the conclusion that interview-centered method is a better approach than a observation-centered one is totally vague: the author does not compare any aspect of the two approaches. All this conclusion comes from the fact that the children talked more about their biological parents, which we have already discussed it was not a good evidence at all. It would be needed a much better comparision between these two techniques to get such a conclusion.

For all these reasons, the conclusion of the author is very unclear and have no valid point.