Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The author has presented two case studies conducted in order to study the child-rearing practices in Tertia. The first research was carried out twenty years ago and made use of observations. The current study was conducted by interviewing a set of people. Results say that the former study inferred that children were reared by the entire village, however, the latter says children spent more time talking about their biological parents. Based on this, Dr. Karp decides that the initial study was invalid and some anthropologists recommend to follow the interview based technique in the future. Before following this recommendation, there are some queries which need to be addressed.

First of all, there is a long time difference of about twenty years between the two studies conducted. These many years are more than enough for people to bring in many changes in their child-rearing techniques. It can be quite possible that biological parents realized that they should be giving more time to their children on encountering certain problems and mended their ways. Thus, the author needs to provide a thorough background of the upbringing methods in both the cases.

Secondly, in both the researches the method of study is distinct. Dr. Field relied on observations whereas Dr. Karp interviewed his subjects. In the initial study, it is necessary to know what were the parameters or observations noted and on what basis did he draw his inference. Also, it is essential to know whether the people observed or interviewed represented various sections of Tertian culture in both scenarios. For the recent research by Dr. Karp, it is imperative to know what were the questions asked during the interview sessions. In some cases, the questions are designed in such a way that unknowingly subjects tend to give a particular answer for their own benefit.

Dr. Karp has directly asserted that Dr. Field’s results are invalid without considering various aspects. Considering the concerns raised above, it is quite possible that both studies were correct in their own ways. Therefore, without conducting a comprehensive review of both the studies and analyzing the questions raised, it would not be right to follow the conclusion of only being dependent on interview-centric techniques for future research.