Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

The above recommendation is based on the idea that the children reared by other adults do not have feelings for their biological parents, other people can not tell the younsters about the people who have given birth to them.

A study conducted in USA in 2001, said that it was seen that the individuals who go to foster families spend most of their childhood thinking about how their life would have been if they would have been living with them. If these kids were interviewed then it is definitely sure that they would be taking about their real folks and not the foster ones, but this does not mean that they have lived with their real folks. As if the above statement is belived then it just gives us this idea.

Moreover, the interviews are conducted on the smaller level and to grasp the working or thinking of the entire culture it is important analyse it on the larger scale which can be easily done through the observations. Therefore, the children interviewed were emotionally influnced during the interview but the third person observing from outside is not going to have any emotional attachment. So, the conclusion is unbaised.

As, the observation tells us that young ones are taken care of by other adults and not by the parents then it is highly probable that the real parents who are young adults have been assigned certain specific duties by the society for which they are forced to stay away from their kids. And, may be this is the reason the youngsters idolise their actual parents and keep talking about them.

To conclude, we need to understand that the to research regarding any society or culture should be based from the larger prespective and should not be predisposed, therefore it is better use the observation approach.