Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument mention's results from two separate studies by two anthropologists. While Dr. Field based on his study comes to the conclusion that children were reared by entire village in Tertia, Dr. Karp's study uses a different method and concludes otherwise. However, before comparing the two studies several questions must be answered regarding the validity of results.

The observations made by Dr. Field were twenty years ago, while Dr. Karp's interviews were conducted recently. Given the large difference in the time period between the two experiments, can the results from the experiments be compared? There is a possibility that as the younger generation would have grown there could have been a change in the culture of the place over the period. In which case, any comparison between the studies cannot be made as both might be true in their times.

It is also mentioned that the approach used were different by both the scientists. While Dr. Field used observation, Dr. Karp interviewed children directly. It could be possible that results from observation included some assumptions by Dr. Field and may not be true. As it is not mention that any attempt was made by the doctor to cross verify the results with community. On the other hand the research methodology of Dr. Karp could have made the interviewers conscious and inadvertently lead them to talk more about biological parents than community. Were the studies conducted by Dr. Field free from his own untested assumptions? Were the children who were interviewed free from any bias? These question is must be answered to establish the credibility of the studies.

Furthermore, the scope of both studies is different. While Mr. Field's study was limited to the Island of Tertia, Dr. Karp studied other islands also. And since, the area and number of subjects observed and interviewed could be different it would be difficult to compare the results. There is a lack of evidence that supports the fact that even though the area's were different the results can be compared to each other.

Dr. Karp in his results mention that the children talked more about their biological parents than the society. But, what did they talk about is not mentioned. They could have spoken about how bad their biological parents treat them and society helps them. It is an assumption that is not supported by evidence.

The recommendation of the anthropologist is agreed to given that first it must be established that interview method is better than the observation method. The present evidences and study mentioned falls short to conclude either of this information.