Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

There are several problems with the quick conclusion that Field's conclusion based on observation data is flawed, and the recommendation that future data be gathered by interview only is not effective.

First, the two researchers used different samples. Is Field's sample of Tertia itself representative of the islands as a whole, which Karp sampled? The assumption is made that it is, but we need to know if this is true. If there are differences, we need to know what those differences are and how the differences impact which adults the children spend time with. This would impact who the children spend time with and who the children talk about.

Second, Karp is showing deep favoritism for his own method by making such a strong assumption about FIeld's method and conclusion. Just because children talked about their parents more doesn't mean other adults didn't help raise them. Children in western society are deeply impacted by teachers, coaches, etc, and parallel relationships could exist in Tertia and the surrounding islands. What evidence is there that indicates that interview data should have stronger weight than observation data?

Finally, Karp is making a strong conclusion based on only one type of evidence. Neither Field's method or Karp's method is complete. Both interviews and observations, considered together, become complementary qualitative data that give a clearer picture of culture. We need to know where the observation and interview data support one another, and also where they seem to diverge, so the divergence can be further examined. Also, only children were interviewed. Children will have a natural affinity for their parents more than other adults. It is also necessary to interview adults, who are likely to look at the situation more objectively.

In summary, Karp is jumping to conclusions. Just because his method shed light on a different side of child-rearing, this doesn't indicate that Field's method, data, or conclusions are flawed. Karp should look to see where the two methods and dada work in concert to draw a more complete conclusion.