Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The passage talks about how children are reared on the island of Tertia .

Two studies were conducted one by Dr Field 20 years ago and another one recently by Dr. Karp. Their studies' point to disparate child rearing methodologies. It has been recommended by some anthropologists to conduct further interview-centered research to get accurate information . This recommendation is based on several assumptions and hence may not be completely valid.

Firstly , The two researhers have used different methods to investigate the child rearing methodology on Tertia island. One was through observation and the other was through conducting interviews. I believe that interview centered approach , though more personal can actually goad the interviewee to a certain direction. We need to be aware of the questions that have been asked. Assuming the children were asked only about their parents , it is natural for them to thus speak about them .“talking “ about their parents, which is vague. Children may also gives biased answers to validate the claim of the interviewer.Thus only interview based approach can lead to biased answer. A more detailed questionnaire , that dispassionately covers all the relationships , may get us closer to actual answer.

Secondly , we should consider the time which has elapsed between the two studies. Dr. Fields conducted research some twenty years ago. At that point in time children may have been reared by whole village as a joint family . There may have been a different social construct for the term 'family'. Thus he concluded that children were raised by the entire village rather than just the biological parents. While in the recent scenario , such practice may have been abandoned . Tertian People may have shifted to nuclear family setup .So the children from this young generation are more connected to their biological parents and have answered the questions about them . Hence both studies may hold significance .Implying both approaches can be used for future research .No specific benefits of interview based approach over observation based for this scenario has been mentioned.

Finally , Dr, fields studied only one island , Tertia , where as the recent study included other islands as well . It may also be possible that sample interviews conducted in Tertia were small . Thus it is possible that overall the practises prevalent in Tertia got generalized due to extrapolation from majority responses. This anomaly can occur easily if the population size at Tertia is small.How many people were questioned and what is the population of Tertia ? Some nanswered questions We should thus re-check the survey sample and process used to conduct these interviews.

The given passage mentions the two approaches used to find out the child rearing practice in tertia and their respective results . Though it has not been justified why the anthropologists' favor interview centered approach . The recommendation should be reconsidered taking into account the above mentioned arguments.