Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

Tha passage states that Dr. Field’s conclusion, that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by thair own biological parents, in proven to be wrong, and also that the use of the observation-centered approach to studying culture (which was used by Dr. Field on that study) is invalid. However, the author’s conclusion is rife with holes and assumptions, since there isn't enough evidence to support one’s point of view.

The passage mentions that the author’s recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that include Tertia show they spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This argument is based on the assumption that the villages on the group of islands that include Tertia all rear the children in tha same way. But couldn’t the islands have different villages, presenting a cultural variety that includes, among other aspects, the way of raising the children? Not only that is possible, but given the communication’s difficulties on islands with very limited technology, it’s likely that very different societies lived in these islands.

Moreover, even if it was true that the islands have similar societies, the athor’s point of view is based on interviews with children who talk abou their biological parents. But the fact that they are reared by the entire village doens’t necessarily prevent the children to know, love and admire their biological parents. The assumption that if a child is raised by the entire village, then he/she would not talk about the biological parents is flawed and raises questions about the validity of the author’s conclusion. What if the villagers reared all the children, but they actually lived with their biological parents? What if the children were taught about their families, their relatives, and the importance of this knowledge to the society’s culture? The author would bennefit from bringin more information regarding these interviews.

To sum up, although the author highlights a possibilitie, he/she would beneffit from bringing more information to stregnthen his/her point of view. If new evidences that support the reasoning on the passage were found, they should be pointed out, in order to avoid raising doubts in more critic readers about what is being sated.