Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than

Dr. Karp contents that interview-centered method helps to establish a more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions in island cultures. His contention is based on the interview centered approach used by his graduates and him in order to understand about the child rearing tradition in Tertia. He found that children in Tertia talk more about their biological parents than any other adults. This was contrary to the conclusion of Dr. field where he had concluded on the basis of his observation that children were reared by an entire village rather than by their biological parents. Although this argument seems coherent at first glance; However, upon scrutiny, one can fathom that it is based on flawed assumptions and premises.

The most glaring error is that Dr Karp is comparing his observation to a study which was conducted twenty years ago. In such a long time a lot of cultural, demographic, economic, political changes may have taken place. May be 20 years ago the whole village was actually involved in rearing a child as they had more time. However, in the 20 years because of changes like people living in nuclear families, families moving to big cities, the culture of the place might have got changed. Due to which the child rearing ways might have got changed. Hence, one fathom that this argument is based on faulty assumption.

Secondly, no information has been provided regarding the sample size on which the interviews were conducted. Until such interviews are not conducted on a proper sample size, the reliability of the results cannot be considered. Hence, owing to lack of information regarding the sample size on cannot conclude that Dr. Field’s observation was wrong.

Even if we assume that no cultural changes actually took place in last 20 years and the sample size of population on which the interviews were conducted was appropriate, one cannot deny the fact that Dr. Karp has based his conclusion without comparing the results of different methods of gathering information. Without any substantial data depicting the result of different methods of gathering data one cannot conclude that interview-centered method helps to establish a more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions.

Evidently, the argument is not very reliable. In order to ensure that the argument can be accepted by the reader Dr Karp needs to provide information regarding the sample size on which interviews were conducted. He needs to take into consideration the time gap of 20 years and then come up with a conclusion.