The vice president for human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet inappropriately from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. Installing software on company computers to detect employees' Internet use is the best way to prevent employees from wasting time on the job. It will foster a better work ethic at Climpson and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the recommendation of company's president, there should be a electronic monitoring system to keep a track on employees internet usage, which completely is a vague statement. The author hasn’t provided any kind of supporting statement to its clams. Like a survey or briefing should have been conducted with the board members of the company, so there would have been some sort of options or opinion to tackle the situation in the company.

Even the author has not specified exactly how many hours an employee have been spending on some sort of shopping sites or playing games. It could be as slight as 5 minutes or several hours, which could affect the efficacy of the work drastically. Installing some sort of trackers could be a violation of privacy, which co be a big issue, it might track some highly sensitive and private information on employee’s system.

The installation of such highly technical software can cost a huge amount time of research and development, which may lead in hiring technical team to make such software or paying a third party to do so, which may cost a lot. Even the company will need highly sophisticated servers to store such enormous amount of data, as it will collected from each and every employees' workstation, 24/7. As the author has not mentioned anything about the economic stability of the company which may weaken the argument.