We need to increase the funding of the movie title product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business. We need to increase the funding for the movie Work r director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure.”

The producer in the above memo claims that the studio needs to increase the funding for the movie by 10% to ensure a quality movie. To support the claim he added, more money can hire unionized crew and paying the actors to perform overtime for extra hours. Also spending less by hiring inexperienced producer and director would save more money. So he concludes that if they don't get extra money, the movie could be failure. The argument rests on many assumptions which make it unreasonable to support the claim.

Firstly, the producer claims that they saved money by hiring inexperienced assistant producer and directors. In this claim he assumes that the work performed by them will not cause any failure to the movie, he assumes that inexperienced assistant producers and director can lead the movie to similar success if they would have hired the experienced assistant producers and directors. But it could be possible that because of the less of expeirence they cannot take the movie to the peak. The author also says that they are working with the director whose previous experience has been shooting for commercials of shampoo company. It is unreasonable to assume that he is qualified enough to direct a movie with so many more responsibility than commercials and ensure a quality product for the studio. From the above assumptions we can say that saving money on hiring inexperienced producers and directors could be the reason for the failure of the movie which completely undermines the conclusion of the author in above argument.

Also the author claims that, working for overtime by paying high to actors and the crew will not lead to the failure of movie. He assumes that there are no other factors that could attribute to the failure of movie. what if due to poor editing, the movie couldnt made it to the market? the author does not provide sufficient information about the other factors which could lead to the failure of the movie.

In order to evaluate the argument, lot of evidence are required to answer these assumptions. The argument as it stands now is currently lacking an adequate explanation, suffers from lack of quantification, and requires further evaluation to answer these assumptions. Thus, it is not considerable to conclude that spending extra money on crew, actors and working for overtime would lead to the success of the movie.