“The Smith Corporation should not be permitted to develop the land that is now part of the Youngtown Wildlife Preserve. This sanctuary is essential to the survival of the 300 bird species that live in our area. Although only a small percentage of the land will be sold to Smith, the proposed development will have disastrous consequences for our area. The company plans to build a small hotel on the land. Although they have promised to ensure the preservation of the sanctuary, there is no way that their plans will do anything but harm the sanctuary. There are no circumstances under which this sale will benefit our community, which relies on tourists who visit primarily to see our magnificent bird population.”

In the above petition, it is concluded that permitting "The Smith Co-operation" land for development would led to destruction of the wildlife sanctuary of the area. To provide support, following facts has been cited, that nearly 300 bird populations currently live in the area will extinct if development is permitted. Another support provide to the final conclusion is that an increase in tourist population will destroy the wildlife. But the petition is based on many assumptions which if true weakens the conclusion of the petition as a whole. Following are the assumptions.

Firstly, for the first evidence that although small percent of land given for the construction, it will damage the 300 bird species. It assumes that the bird species are visible only in that area where construction is permitted, birds are cannot find places where there's no human population in the sanctuary. It also assumes that the bird species cannot change their place for shelter and only stays where construction is provided. If birds are able to change their place where they can find peace and no disturbance, then there will not be any harm to their lives. If it is true then it weakens the conclusion that construction will hamper the bird population.

It also assumes that construction will be undertaken hastily and no prevention measures will be taken which will damage the species of birds. If construction is allowed with a proper rules and regulations where any minimal damage to species can check the progress of construction, then construction will be undertaken with proper care and without any damage to the birds. It further assumes that after the construction is done, the increase in tourist population will destroy birds. It assumes that tourist will not be there for helping birds or any measures to feed will not be taken, instead they will harm the birds. What if people started loving birds and they started to provide new homes also feeding them with healthy food so that they can stay healthy throughout their life? It can be possible that with the increase in tourist will in turn increase the outsprings of birds and making a healthy place for all birds to live.

In conclusion, the reasons cited in the petitions for preventing the construction, although has considerable reasons but there are many assumptions which if true will weaken the final conclusion. They petition further requires more evaluations and more evidence to avoid construction. Without any, one cannot assume that it would always harm the species of birds.