We recommend that Monarch Books open a café in its store. Monarch, having been in business at the same location for more than twenty years, has a large customer base because it is known for its wide selection of books on all subjects. Clearly, opening th

Monarch Books has the same business at the same location for more than twenty years and has large customer base because of diversity in genre of books. Authors are making an assumption that once opening the cafe would attract more customers and will be able to compete with Regal Books which has recently opened their own cafe. Moreover, authors suggest that Monarch Books should replace children’s book section by cafe. The recommendation is not likely to have the predicted result because the evidence provided by author is not even sufficient enough to predict the result.

Authors have suggested that by adding a cafe, business will progress and will attract more customers. Authors have made this prediction purely on the basis of their logical reasoning and have not supported it by any evidence. By adding cafe, they will be replacing children’s section and will allow customers to enjoy their drink or food inside the Monarch Book store. By doing that, customers might litter around and that would affect the aesthetics of the store and this will make customers avoid the place. Also, if the cafe is present, customers would have enjoyed their drinks or meal while talking on mobile or to each other and would cause din environment. And this will affect their customer base if they prefer Monarch books because of their cleanliness and quiet environment. They have assumed that just because Regal Books have added cafe recently, Regal’s business is booming, and maybe after adding the cafe their customers have stopped visiting Regal Books. If Monarch Books opens cafe, they will have same decline in customers.

Monarch Books clearly has large customer base and it is mostly the base of attraction because it has diversity in the genre of the book. By replacing the Children’s book section, they will be taking risk of losing customers because many customers might just prefer Monarch Books because it has Children section. Authors mentions that the recent census dictate a significant decline in the percentage of the population under age ten and a possibility of low purchase of children’s books and that census indicates the decline in population of children underage ten nationally. And if the children under age of ten are more present in the Monarch Books region then obviously the children book section needs to be present. The insufficient information here weakens the author reason for replacement of children’s section.

If the Authors had considered the children’s section books sales along with the national consensus of decline in the population of kids under age of 12 would have helped in determining whether replacing the children section with cafe would have helped boost their business. They should also consider getting in touch with their customers and have feedback regarding their suggestion of adding the cafe. Having a local survey regarding their idea to add cafe would seem to help them determine whether customers will welcome the new change or not. They should also wait to check out whether the Regal Books business has boomed or had decline.