"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increasingly more time to covering national news and less time to covering weather and local news. During the same time period, most of the complaints we received from viewers were concerned wit

The late-night news programs which use to run with long exposures to local news and weather had more views as compare to the changed late-night news programs which gives more exposure to national news rather than the local news and weather and most of the complaints had been reported by the users for the concern of low coverage of local news and weather. Not only the viewers count has decreased but the local business have stopped giving out ads to the channel for late night news programs.

As per the issue mentioned above, the solution to increase the count of views and advertising revenue by giving more coverage to local news and weather is based on many assumptions. Here the business manager is considering that the only factor for their views and revenue issue is because of low exposure to the local news and weather but have failed to consider various other parameters which might have cause the low viewer counts and advertisement revenue loss. Over the years, the viewers might have stopped watching late night news programs which could because of change in the shift time of the local community work schedule or their loss of interest in watching the television. As it is late night show, many viewers might have their increased work load and had stopped watching the news at all or have changed their routine. There might be some other channels which may have given proper exposure to local news and weathers and none of their news might be based on false rumors and viewers interest in them has increased. As mentioned that the night news shows use advertisements for revenues and due to more time given to advertisements, the news gets limited exposure and might have been off putting to viewers leading to loss of viewers. Over the years, with advancement in streaming services, the viewers might have switched to streaming as it has easily available local news and weather and national news. If the national news time is being reduced, this could also cause into series of complaints regarding low exposure to the national news. The balance had to be found between various news, weathers and advertisements. As only most of the complaints are mentioned, the other complaints are also to be looked over and come up with a solution to resolve it.

Local businesses have canceled their advertising contracts and the manager had assumed that it was solely because of loss of viewers count. Local businesses could have canceled their contracts because as it was late night show, not many watch or pay attention to advertisement in first place. The local businesses would have had low cost advertisement slots available to them through different channels or programs leading to switch in contracts with other channel. As national news were given more coverage as compare to local news and weather, this may have led to even less time given to advertisement and due to this local businesses would not be promoted and will be at loss.

By just increasing the coverage of local news and weather and reducing the national news will not help and the manager should analyse the other parameters on why the viewers count is abating and the reason for the local business canceling advertising contracts.