"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author made a conclusion based on several pieces of rough evidence. None of them make the argument convincing, instead, they have different problems each by each. To evaluate the argument more clearly and precisely, the author needs to provide the data in the same period, show the evidence’s fit to the assumption directly and necessarily, and make irrefutable connections between evidence and the conclusion. Otherwise, the evidence is nothing but revealing the weakness of the argument.

While XYZ’s company is using personnel firm to offer employees’ opportunity to find a job after being fired, the comparison between the two firms they have been used is unconvincing. One data of Delany and another one of Walsh's are two materials in different time which attribute to the misunderstanding that there is nothing change in 8 years, but it is impossible. To make the argument reasonable, the author should provide the premise that in 8 years, human resource marketing and economy stay the same.

Although the Delany’s staff is bigger and the branch office is more, it is nothing can guarantee that the work in there are more efficient than Walsh and therefore it is superior to Walsh. Many companies are small but very famous, usually, only have a one core team but very efficient such as Pix. Oppositely, the bigger company often takes more time and need more revenue to maintain its huge and clumsy company. Thus, the author needs to offer a significant connection between the evidence that the bigger company is undoubtedly more effective in working.

Also, the author mixed the statistic information improperly. Firstly, only half of the unemployed staff use Walsh found a job may be because those jobs needs were rare in the market. If the average job found chance is 20%, then, in fact, the Walsh did a very great help. Similarly, the period of finding a job does not mean that the Delany is better than the Walsh if the types of jobs were different. Therefore, the author should inform that the job-hunting in these two companies are the same.

All in all, the evidence in the argument is lacking supported assumptions. The author should mention that the time, the type of jobs, and the detailed conditions related to these two companies. Otherwise, the whole conclusion is unreasonable and the argument is falling apart when considering it.