Claim: Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

While their major cities of a country are primarily in leading economic and cultural development, it is unnecessary to give financial burden to the government to ensure its thriving for the reasons for autonomous of big cities, the changeable of tourists and investment’s interests, and the tax.

For a big and important city in a country, the thriving and growing impetuous come from its autonomy and keep the city autonomous in return because of the investment and trade with other countries by connecting with their major cities. People living in the major cities are hardworking and the fame of the city keeps attracting newcomers come to work for the city. The lively work chance and thrilling activities are commercials for cities. Take a Tokyo for example, as a Japan’s biggest city and capital, millions of people come to Tokyo from all over the world for its growing job market, unique anime cultural, and all kinds of events. The government money goes to local areas instead of Tokyo. Conversely, the tax comes from Tokyo in a large amount. Thus, it is safe to say that the thriving of the big cities invests their country, not the opposite.

Although the big cities need government money to deal with the emergency and maintain their transportation condition, for example, the train, bus and bicycle’s renew need the government support, such expense is basic level far away from the cultural need mentioned in the claim. In fact, the growth of big cities is a process of dismissing their traditions. The traditions are keeping the global cultural away from the rapid change. For instance, many young people want to work in New York, London, and Tokyo for its international fame. Historical cities such as Kyoto in Japan becomes a tourist spot and remain very few of job. The money from the government is for its preservation, not for its thriving. People go there will see many aged people working in temples, traditional style of restaurant, and historical areas.

Therefore, we have to notice that the government money comes from tax income from their major cities and the cities’ growing determined by people working there and international fame. The money from the government is merely a maintaining part of its basic need. Although in traditional preservation dimension, the money from the government is correct, unfortunately, those cities are becoming more and more lagging behind major cities.