Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which

The author explained the deer population’s diseasing by the change of deer’s life pattern after the global warming occurred, thus reach to the conclusion that the decline of the population as a result of the changed pattern. While it seems reasonable at the first sight of the author’s argument, the evidence provided in the passage is not quite convincible when looking it closely, which can tell a different story about the deer and certainly undermine the argument

To begin, it is problematic of climate change contribute to the deer’s living pattern, which leads to the decrease of its population just because the climate change happened ahead. If the deer can find a different path for foraging or their life pattern disturbed by predators’ number increasing, then even though climate change happened, it did not influence the deer’s population directly. Moreover, even if the climate change were true and it did affect deer to travel between different islands for the melting ice, it still hard to connect the reason that it will hit the deer’s population because the climate change is a slow process rather than a rapid change, such as volcano eruption or earthquake, which can change the landscape suddenly. Otherwise, is there any other change happened, for example, the virus which can survive in warm weather infects deer and got popular, or the warm weather suppressed deer’s appetite, these situations will undermine the attribution of climate change.

Additionally, the changing pattern of the traveling can influence the deer’s population seems reckless because the argument is lacking evidence that the pattern is exclusive. For example, it there any possibility that the pattern changed is because residents hunting more than before? Also, is there any chance of the deer move to another island and traveling with another island even further than the current situation, therefore over the view of the hunter who reported in this argument. Then the population did not decrease at all. Without knowing these possibilities, the conclusion is not plausible.

Last but not least, the author made an assumption based on the local hunter’s report, which is too less to be reliable evidence. Another witness, for example, the scientists working over there, the data from the local government should be considered too. Nonetheless, whether the hunter’s report is veritable depends on the weather of the report. If the hunter reported at summertime instead of in winter, it probably will change the whole story.

To sum up, the argument is about the reason that the deer population decreased. Although the author provided the fact that deer’s living pattern and their food favorite, connecting the climate change’s influence on the living pattern cannot enough conclude that it is the major reason. To convince the audience, the author needs to show other possibilities are excluded in this case.