Claim: In any field — business, politics, education, government — those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

While to keep a realm that no matter it is business, politics, education or government prosperous will be a very tough challenge task even to an experienced and skillful master, allowing the leader stay in his position for over five years might be a good opportunity, instead of harmful perspective that they will go to failure after five years. Despite politics and government field, leaders bring more benefits if they stay long.

Admittedly, in political arenas and government offices, leaders who are working for a long term could gather many rights and powers which allow them to commit corruption. Such as “politicians are liars”, “governors are the laziest persons” expressed the impression from citizens. Living by citizens’ tax and pursuing personal ambitions are typical bias to people who dedicated life to politics and governments. Because of the belief system’s gap between citizens and politicians, one of the stable and reliable ways to run government fairly are let politicians take a specific position no longer than five years. However, the same rule does not fit people who are expert and enterprise.

In the education field, scholars enjoy the tenure track in their career which helps them passion on researching and teaching. Although many experts are reported on languishing in teaching, their research needs decades’ endeavor. Imagine if a scholar only can keep his career in a university for five years, their work certainly will be damaged by rushing to publish or finding the next the job. The fruitful experiments conduct thousands of time will at the risk of vanish when the scholars’ five years’ work ended. Similarly, a successful businessman fighting for his product which represents his intelligent and strategic could not be taken back or replaced by other people after the fifth year. The spirit of the company will be damaged and workers and staffs will leave if they cannot get along with the new leaders. Many company’s CEOs are life-long position because of their leaderships and employees’ loyalty. The great company is more like a big family and everyone in the company working for the same goal and pursuing the same dream, such as Facebook, Google, and Amazon. The CEOs work for their own company for life long and the company extraordinarily keeps thriving.

Therefore, the five years path of revitalization works for the political field but not for business and education field. Politic depends on the different mode of work and keeps it clean and open by changing people in power. Instead, the education and business field which requires years endeavor and devotion should not be set with time.