While the Department of Education in the state of Attra suggests that high school students be assigned homework every day, the data from a recent statewide survey of high school math and science teachers give us reason to question the usefulness of daily homework. In the district of Sanlee, 86 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week, whereas in the district of Marlee, less than 25 percent of the teachers reported assigning homework three to five times a week. Yet the students in Marlee earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are the students in Sanlee. Therefore, we recommend that all teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

To the author this argument claims that our high school should assign homework no more than twice in a week. To justify the recommendation, the author cites the following facts. (1) A nationwide survey of high school math and science shows that singing homework daily is not useful. (2) in he distinct of Marlee, the students give better grade because teacher do not assign homework tree to five times a week. (3) We can use this suggestion, because it was successful in the Marlee. Scrutiny each of these factors, however, reveals that none of them lend credible supports to the recommendation.

First, base on the fact the a nationwide survey shows signing homework daily is usefulness in high school math and science, the author infers that it would be useful in all schools. However, it is not necessarily the case. Really, it is entirely possible that the survey’s result is very different in high school art and literature. So, there is not reasonable to generalize the result of a certain schools to all kinds of schools.

Second, the author relies on this assumption that students in Marlee gain better grades because of less signing homework. Nevertheless, students’ success were due to other factors such as the better teaching methods, more learning facilities, or even high educated teachers. In fact, in the district of Marlee; school may put new facilities at students’ disposal, which increase peoples’ grasp, like computers or advanced laboratory. Without considering this possible scenario, the author can not justifiably conclude that teachers should sign less students’ homework in a week.

In the third place, the author claims that we should run this plan in our high school, because the nation survey’s result. Nonetheless, it is quite possible the students in our high school be different of nation standards, and surely; running this suggestion can give different result in our high school.

In sum, the argument is flowed logically and therefore unconvincing as it stands. To strengthen the arguments, the author must provide clear information that nationwide reflects of our school. In order to assess the recommendation, we must know about all effective factors in students’ success in Marlee.