Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given argument suggests that the baskets found in ancient village of Palea were not unique to Palean people as it were also found in Lithos which was across Brim River. The argument makes assumptions that the state of Brim River was same at prehistoric times as it is now, along with how as archaeologists did not find any Palean boats implies that Paleans did not have any boats.

Regarding the assumption about Brim River, it can't be said with surety that Brim River was deep and broad during prehistoric time when Palean and Lithos village existed. Some geographical phenomenon can contribute to formation of new river as Brim River or broadening and deepening of the already existing shallow stream of water. If the evidence suggests that Brim River was a shallow stream and some geographic or geomorphic event made it deep and broad, it could have been crossed without the help of boats. People from Palea could have crossed the river easily, hence suggesting that people living in Lithos also had people from Palea. Hence, finding Palean baskets in Lithos would not refute that Palean baskets are unique to Palean people. Evidence needed to evaluate the claim that Palean baskets are not unique to Palea should suggest that Brim River was deep and broad even during prehistoric times when Palean and Lithos villages existed.

The argument uses absence of any Palean boats and presence of deep and broad river between Palea and Lithos to justify that Palean people and Lithos people had no contact. Further, this implies that migration of artform "Palean baskets" didn't occur through Palean people to Lithos people, but Lithos people developed it on their own. This can be erroneous because the argument talks about no Palean boats, but Lithos people could have had boats. Also, boats made by Palean people could deteriorate with time. Evidence is needed to provide where it indicates that neither Palean nor Lithos people knew art of boat making and they had no contact with each other which would help disseminate art form thought of as unique to Palean people.

It can be concluded that the argument holds true for most of the part, however some specific evidences are needed to mark the entire argument as true.