Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The ‘Palean’ basket known for a particularly distinctive pattern have be a topic of discussion due to newly acquired information. The archaeologists have found evidence of presence of baskets in a village across the Brim river which is deep and difficult to cross. Though the presence matters, it is difficult to conclude the spread of this skill across villages.

The main point to be highlighted in this regard is the lacking evidence for the existence of boats. The Brim river is deep and wide, thus cannot be crossed by people without any support. Any transportation between the villages could be by a boat or a bridge . The important point to ponder here is that availability of an articraft in a place does not necessarily imply the presence of its manufacturers and also lack of evidence does not necessarily strife of the existence of the object. There might be many aspects of the life style and amenities used by the villagers still undiscovered and waiting to fill the unsolved mystery. The presence of any mode of transportation adds to the theory of migration which ultimately be the reason for distribution of the woven baskets in many villages.

The history has many pages yet to unfolded and any conclusion cannot be based on a single evidence.