To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The society is represented by its people. One can study and understand the characteristics and traits of a society by studying the behavior,

culture and lifestyle of the people involved in that society. Cities serve a potential platform to understand the characteristics of a society

but do not entirely give an insight into their lives.

The major cities in any region comprises of people from all over the country and it proves to be a great resource in understanding the culture and

nuisances of the society. But, not all people are originally from that particular city. Urbanization and employment search has lead thousands of immigrants

to come to the cities in search of a way to feed their hunger and lead a normal life. With people from different parts of the country, the city acts as a melting

point where each person takes something from every culture offered and forms a hybrid which might not be as same as the inhabitants. New York serves as a perfect example

where people from every part of the world settle there, bringing their own culture which has now resulted in a new 'New York culture' which is far different from the rest

of the country.

Another major reason why the cities cannot be considered as only resource is the structure of work-ethics in major cities. The major cities in every country

is buzzing all the time irrespective of night and day such that they are turning into a factory with humans acting as robots caring out their chores mechanically.

Each person has the same routine and is in a rush to wind up the day as soon as possible. In this situation, the real traits of the society takes a back step and hides

in a corner of the city trying to make its way.

The cities do not provide any deep insight on how the society works in that particular region. However, with people from different race, culture and ethnicity all

gathering together under a single roof does enlighten us of the diversity present in the region. Different cultures can be introduced and later studied from the cities.

But, the real heart of the society lies in its rural areas. If one wants to know how exactly a society behaves, the extensive study must be done of its rural areas.

They preserve the raw emotions and spirit of a society and shower us with minute details of its people. We learn their culture, enjoy in their celebrations and understand the

deep values rooted in the society though the rural life.