The following appeared as part of a letter to the editor of a scientific journal.

"A recent study of eighteen rhesus monkeys provides clues as to the effects of birth order on an individual's levels of stimulation. The study showed that in stimulating situations (such as an encounter with an unfamiliar monkey), firstborn infant monkeys produce up to twice as much of the hormone cortisol, which primes the body for increased activity levels, as do their younger siblings. Firstborn humans also produce relatively high levels of cortisol in stimulating situations (such as the return of a parent after an absence). The study also found that during pregnancy, first-time mother monkeys had higher levels of cortisol than did those who had had several offspring."

Write a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

The study done on the rhesus monkeys gives an account of the level of hormone cortisol present in the new born and compares the quantity of it in firstborns as opposed to the younger siblings. The study primarily emphasises on the hormone level stating that the firstborns receive it in higher levels but the theory has several flaws in it.

The scientific study is made on total 18 monkeys and no information has been provided on their breed, age of mother, habitat place and many other. Many of these factors play decisive role in understanding the reactions in body and without them, the theory cannot be generalized. A study based on only 18 monkeys cannot be a conclusive evidence in declaring any character trait of all monkeys.

The study also fails to mention the health condition of the monkeys. In medical world, an attck of an micro organism or virus is likely to cause abnormal level of hormones. The study mentions that the hormone levels were as twice in the first born to its younger siblings. But, it fails to provide any measure on what exactly are the numbers. If the hormone levels are very small, then its double will not affect in any way.

The study does not have clarity on the topic of simulating situations. The situations which should be considered as simulating is no where mentioned in the study. What particular trait of simulating situations causes the release of the hormone is also unclear.

The theory draws similarity between the hormone production functionality in monkey and humans reminding us once again that humans are evolved from the monkeys. But, lack of conclusive facts and figures to concur with the theory makes its diffficult to accept.