Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Archaelogical findinds and their interpretations to suggest the idea of how things may have evolved over time will always be open to dispute. As their is no one to justify the authenticity of a theory, there is pretty much no 100% correct theory. The premise of this argument is plausible that as the baskets were found near the location of Palean people, they might have been the makers of it, yet, the passage suggests that they might have been the only maker. This is a pretty strong statement, given that there is very little information on this topic.

This speculation is refuted by the second part of the passage, that says, similar craftings have been found in another village close to the village of Palea. The author argues that Palean people could have taught the Lithos people about that but has suggested there were hardly any scope for them to meet. As there were a massive river in between the two places and no boats of that time were found, he suggested tha there possibly could not have been any connection. Well, no boat being found is peripherally related to there being a connection, Just because, any boat or any other form of transportation were not found, does not prove that there simply were not any. They might have destroyed in the course of events, after all it was a long-time ago. Just as they thought they Palean baskets were only found in Palea, but then learned about other possibilities, likewise, further digging into this subject matter may find some connection to fill the blank.

Then again, we know about the struggles of the ancient people regarding their lack of transportation. Lack of any means to travel simply did not stop them from travelling. In the pre-wheel arena, people do use to walk long distances, with heavy carriages. They did, because they had to. They had no other option, yet they managed it. The point here is, the people from Palea, they might have swam across the Brim river, if they had to. The author has overstated here that people of Palea could not have gone to Lithos because no boats were found.

Nonetheless, the baskets being unique also poses some questions. Palea and Lithos, they were nearby areas and people in this places were also the people from the same time-period having the same kinds of needs. So it should not be a wild exaggeration that the Lithos people were also motivated to make such baskets. For instance, we see the arts and crafts having the similar pattern that comes from a certain period. Like the 90's music, regardless of the part of the world they originated from, they had the similar sounds. So, maybe they all made the same thing, the world found out about the Paleans' first, so credit went to them, much like Marcony and the invention of Radio, that later turned out to be by Jagadish Chandra Basu.

The author presents a weak argument based on limited information. Archaeology is a discipline of trial and error. Any new information can destroy whatever current belief is being held. So, to reach a conclusion in this kind of topic is risky and prone to easy failure, which may have been the case for this argument.