Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

The writer of the argument concludes that Palean basket are not uniquely made on the Palea because a Palean basket was seen in Lithos; however this conclusion cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of premises all of which can be challenged in one way or another.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that a Palean basket made in Lithos because of archaeologists saw a basket in Lithos. However, there is no evidence to prove that Palean basket actually made in Lithos because of seeing one basket in Lithos. For example, maybe that basket goes across Brim River from Palea because somebody dropped the basket in the Brim River and the river flow the basket to Lithos or maybe someone who had Palean basket move to Lithos and take his/her Palean basket to the Lithos and after a while sold that basket to people in Lithos.

Another problems with the argument is that the writer assumes that Palean people didn’t have any boat because no Palean boats had been found. However, there is no evidence to definitely prove that this is the case. Maybe the people in Palea had boats but they transferred boats to another place. Or maybe people in Lithos had boat and went to Palea to buy a Palean basket. Or maybe Palean boats destroyed over the years. The argument didn’t discuss about this circumstances.

A third problems with the argument is that the writer assumes that things remain the same over the years. However, in most cases this is not true. Maybe ten years ago the Brim River is narrow and shallow but now it is very deep and broad. Or maybe in the past people in Lithos and Palea trade their products by roads but now they transport their product by boats. As a result, we can’t accept the writer argument about the transportation conditions on that time because he/she didn’t explain it vividly.

In the final analysis, the writer’s conclusion cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in the body paragraphs above, it depends on a number of assumptions each of which is questionable. The conclusion can only be accepted if the weaknesses already referred to all removed.