Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archaeologists discovered such a "Palean" basket in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. The Brim River is very deep and broad, and so the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boat, and no Palean boats have been found. Thus it follows that the so-called Palean baskets were not uniquely Palean.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument claims that woven baskets found in a prehistoric village of Palea were believed to have been made only by Palean people and not in Lithos, an ancient village across the Brim River from Palea. Also describes that the ancient Paleans could have crossed it only by boats and no Paleans boats have been found. But does not mention any other kind of transport in the region that could be the possibility of trade, the existence of land between both villages and the timeline of Brim River.

The argument does not mention the existence of another kind of transport. The trade could happened by land that connects Palea a Lithos. Population could prefer to commerce in land because the river was extremely extense, for example. The lackness of this evidence weaks the validity of the argument.

Another evidence that does not exists in the argument is the timeline of Brim River. It lacks the year of the existence of both villages and maybe was a time that the river did not exist. So it was possible to perform the trade walking until both villages. Also could be a possibility that the Paleans were actually the ones who brought their woven baskets to Lithios. Therefore, another evidence that undermines the argument.

It is evident that this arguments lacks evidence and information that can sustain the hypothesis that woven baskets have been made only by the Palean people. According to the statements above, exists plenty of assumptions that undermines the argument.