To understand the most important characteristics of a society, one must study its major cities.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

According to the argument, studying major cities give you a better understandment of most important chacacteristics of a society. but I can not agree with that, because smaller cities have plenty of features to be studied, especially comparing to bigger and major cities.

In the first place, this statement can not be taken to consideration because in everything that we study, it is needed a comparison. Besides, major cities can have more importance regarding commerce, number of population and others reasons, but does not disqualified a not known city to be studied. For example, there is a study nowadays which compares people living in metropoles and people living in small cities, concerning about navigational skills.they did an experiment with a group of people borned in big cities such as New York, Los Angeles and another group that lives in smaller cities. The result was that metropolitan people have more problems to find themselves on streets than the other group. The ability of navigation is higher with people that leaves in cities that are less "complex", maybe because there is not need for a GPS or because they are already familiar where to find the stores, supermarkets, or other houses. In addition, when they are put in others cities, in comparison with the other group, they could find their way easier.this example shows why the statement might to hold true.it is extremely important to study others cities that sometimes are not so relevant comparing to major cities, but always have something to add.

The second point is the importance of smaller or not know cities.another example is Venice, which in the past the major city in italy was Rome, bacause of the importance of politics, religion, government and commerce.In the other hand,Venice was extremely important for italy regarding the sea port.In the past, was the most important please in europe where many trade happened. In the time where european countries, such as Portugal, Spain navigated to colonize or to bring species of another country,Venice was the main place where they traded those variety of food and others materials. And the same example is Rotterdam in Netherlands. Amsterdam is the major city there, but in Rotterdam, there is the biggest port in europe and is the place where exists the biggest concentration of companies and entreperneurs.

Therefore, according to these examples, it is possible to prove that the argument above does not hold truth and it is essential to study all kinds of cities, being big or small cities. To understand the feautures of the society, it is necessary to compare them, and for this to be possible we need to comprehend how people in small-scale places live as well.