Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

1) In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Based on incomplete premises of exceeding speed limit and no sharp decline in the number of accidents, the author has suggested that to improve highway safety, Prunty County should undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane width, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersection. Supporting the statement, the author has reported that Butler County roads, today, still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25% fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago. Although the author is successfully able to depict the current scenario of fewer reported accidents as compared to five years ago in Butler County, the author is too quickly assuming that similar conditions apply to Prunty County; the author has become unable to provide specific evidence to support his conclusion, and to discuss the level of similarity between Prunty County and Butler County in many criteria.

The author implies that same road condition exists in Prunty County as that of Butler County before the initiation of the road improvement project in Butler County, and the result can be, instantly, duplicated if the same kind of road improvement project is also launched in Prunty County. However, the author has far more presumed that this kind of road improvement project will sharply decline the reported cases of accidents in Prunty County too. The author has become unable to address few of the topics related to site and traffic status in Prunty County. Perhaps, Prunty County passes through the main part of the city where traffic is always busy, and Butler County may lie in a bit remote areas where traffic is not so busy. Maybe, the population and number of automobiles in Prunty County is far exceeding than that of Butler County. If this is so, the kind of road improvement project applied at Butler County may not work successfully in Prunty county, although, this might aid in managing traffic to some degree.

Just because Butler County accomplished road improvement project five years ago, the same results may not be xeroxed in Prunty County in recent times. The author has not stated the traffic situation of Prunty County five years ago. There may have occurred several changes in Prunty County within five years of the time period. Maybe, the road status of Prunty County was far better than the recent road status of Butler County. But, with the burgeoning vehicles, led by the proportionate increment in population, the road condition of Prunty County may have gotten worsen in the successive time period. Additionally, there may be a marked difference in awareness level between the drivers of Butler County and Prunty County. Along with the road improvement project: increasing lane width, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at a dangerous intersection, the public of Butler County may have become conscious of driving meticulously. The drivers of Prunty county may be too haughty and frivolous to drive automobiles. This may have brought about this marked difference in reported accident cases in two counties. In my country, few years ago, majority of road accidents was led by excessive drinking; recently, stringent policies have been implemented to avoid driving by drinking and this has brought a significant reduction in accidents involved with drinking.

Still, many specific shreds of evidence is required by the author to strongly support his conclusion. The author should not assume the similar traffic condition and awareness level in both counties; rather he/she should address the details about the traffic scenario and site location of two counties. The author should also state whether the same case applies in today's Prunty County as that of Butler County, right from the initiation of the road improvement project in Butler County. Furthermore, the author should brainstorm every possible consequence that is likely to occur with the implementation of the same road improvement project in Prunty County.