" Although many people think that the luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life are entirely harmless, they in fact, prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals."

Luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life are entirely harmless until and unless they interfere with our normal state of mental and intellectual development. Luxuries and conveniences are designed to facilitate involving tasks; making ease at solving complicated problems within a limited period of time. But, when they are often used for less involving tasks, they affect the mental growth of a person-in fact, retard the intellectual development of well-being. I am consonant with the author's statement to a very extent, provided the additional context of 'misuse' or 'overuse' in the terminating sentence until it strikes a discordant note between two parts of the statement. To the extent that we depend upon automobile and, merely sophisticated cell phones and tablets, we are concomitantly preventing ourselves from developing into truly strong and independent people.

Consider first of all the effect of automobiles in our day-to-day life. Automobiles, nowadays, have become an inexorable part of living a life. People have started to misuse (in sense of overuse) automobiles for the part of activities that could be easily and innocuously done without their assistantship. Cars were obviously invented to make access to reach the destination where public transportation is on the verse of scarcity. With the introduction of new and unique designs, people have become more addicted to brands rather than the ultimate uses. Cars have been exemplified as a symbol of richness; people with Buggati and Mercedes own a prestigious position in society. Actually, this type of trends marks our showy dependency on automobiles rather than making us independent- and equally preventing development into a truly strong and bold personality. We have been enslaved by luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life.

What makes us think so superficially when we have the designer of these luxuries and conveniences inherited within our own body? The luxuries and conveniences of our derivation are now, suppressing our ability of intellectual and cognitive standards. For example; Our brain is able to solve complicated tasks within a few seconds if provided with diligence and continuity, but we are dependent on scientific calculators without judgement of how simple the solution could be. This saves our time, of course, but more importantly prevents our intellectual and mental growth of solving complicated tasks by ourselves.

Some people may say that luxuries and conveniences are sources of advancement and mental development. This applies true only under certain circumstances; when they are more used for betterment rather than ineffective ludicrous tasks. However, the judgement entirely depends upon the correct application at the right time. Luxuries and conveniences are meant to ease our work; not to retard or prevent from developing into truly strong and independent individuals. Moreover, this can only be achieved when we ensure that they are causing no significant harm to us in any respect.