1. Nations should pass laws to preserve any remaining wilderness areas in their natural state, even if these areas could be developed for economic gain.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

A country ought to preserve its forest areas because forests are one of the most crucial resources of oxygen, ores and herbs; however, the economic conditions of a country can not be neglected. Many a time, to stabilize the economy, the government has to use some areas of the jungle.

Firstly, it is very important to have at least 33% area for the forest in any country to have a stable ecosystem because according to World Health Organization (WHO), 33% forests are enough to replenish the oxygen into the environment. So, the government should make the rules and regulations for the preservation of wilderness areas of the country. Having good control over these areas help in the reduction of the extinction of the species. On the other hand, wilderness areas also provide the raw material for various businesses. For example, cotton for clothes, wood for furniture, and paper. After having such benefits from jungles, the government should work upon the implementation of the laws for saving forests.

However, we cannot ignore the fact that without a good economical conditions a government cannot run the country. So in order to improve the economy, the Government has to utilize some areas of the Jungle. Because if there is not a good economical condition of a country then there is no sense of having a rich wilderness area. By doing this, the government is opening doors for various mines and oil refineries because according to ONGC (Oil and Natural Gas Company, India) there are plenty of resources of crude oil in various wilderness area across the globe. But, we can not forget the fact that if we want a healthy life then at least the 33 % area of the land must be preserved for the jungle.

So, A government must make a policy for the country in which it should allocate as much as land possible to the forests and if it requires some area for the economic development of the country then they only utilize the area which is needed and which should not decrease the forest area of the country lesser than 33%. If these policies were implemented successfully then there would be an equilibrium in the ecosystem as well as the government can utilize only some portion of the land which will help to leverage its economy.

Finally, after analysing each factor the conclusion could be that the government should preserve the remaining forests and in an emergency, if required they should use some forest area.