Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia. Using an observation-centered approach to studying Tertian culture, he concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. Recently another anthropologist, Dr. Karp, visited the group of islands that includes Tertia and used the interview-centered method to study child-rearing practices. In the interviews that Dr. Karp conducted with children living in this group of islands, the children spent much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. Dr. Karp decided that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture must be invalid. Some anthropologists recommend that to obtain accurate information on Tertian child-rearing practices, future research on the subject should be conducted via the interview-centered method.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The following argument is discussing the researches conducted by Dr Field and Dr Karp on child-rearing on the island of Tertia. The argument is full of unwarranted statements about researches conducted by both of the scientists; there is a requirement of additional proofs for each of the studies to make the argument valid. This argument is rife with holes and assumptions, and thus, not strong enough to support the recommendation given in the paragraph.

Firstly, the argument is discussing the study that was performed 20 years ago which was observation-centred. The argument is not describing the whole process explicitly. This argument is not giving a proper count of the sample size in observation, what was the method used for observation. It might be possible that there were good relations among the families of the village that children can freely go from one home to another and on the basis of that Dr Field concluded that the children are reared by the whole village. It is also not mentioned that which area of the island or which village he had visited. All the above questions must be answered in order to prove the theory of Dr Field warranted.

Similarly, the theory of Dr Karp is not providing clear answers. If we look at the description provided by Dr Karp's findings, he had taken the interviews of children. In the argument, there is no mention of what questions were asked? how many children participated in the process? if children are talking more about their biological parents than the adults in the village then how could he conclude that Dr Field's theory was wrong? It would be possible that the questions are asked about their biological families. The argument is not providing the answer to these questions which can prove this argument trustful.

However, in both of the theories, there is a gap of 20 years. So, it is hardly possible to say that things have not changed in this duration. It might be possible that 20 years ago children were raised by the whole village; but now, children are under the care of their parents. In both theories, the sample size, the parameters, what process and methods are used are not mentioned.

If the argument is providing the answer of all the mentioned questions then we would decide what method should we use for future research and its effectiveness.

In conclusion, There are a lot of questions need to be answered to make this argument a valid one. without answering them we can not choose any recommendation.